NOWPAP Member States

The geographical scope of the Northwest Pacific Action Plan will cover the marine environment and coastal zones of the following States:

  • [Democratic People’s Republic of Korea;]

  • Japan;

  • People’s Republic of China;

  • Republic of Korea;

  • Russian Federation

from about 121⁰E to 143⁰E longitude, and from approximately 52⁰N to 33⁰N latitude, without prejudice to the sovereign right of any State.


NOWPAP FOCAL POINTS (2018) are senior representatives of the following ministries in Member States

Japan: Global Environment Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan in co-operation with the Ministry of the Environment of Japan and the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism of Japan, and Japan Coast Guard

People’s Republic of China: Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Ecology and Environment of the P. R. China in co-operation with China Maritime Safety Administration

Republic of Korea: Climate Diplomacy Division, Climate Change, Energy and Environmental Affairs Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea in co-operation with the Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries of R. KoreaKorea Marine Environment Management Corporation, and R. Korea Coast Guard

Russian Federation: Department for International Cooperation, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of the Russian Federation in co-operation with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation and the Ministry of Transport of the Russian Federation (Federal Agency for Maritime and River Transport)