Europe & Central Asia

ECA Montreal Protocol Award for Customs and Enforcement Officers for 2019-2020 (regional award ceremony in 2021)

Info note and nomination form in English
Info note and nomination form in Russian
Launching presentation during ECA meeting in Kiev
Launching of 5th edition of Europe and Central Asia (ECA) Montreal Protocol Award for Customs and Enforcement Officers for 2019-2020
Провозглашение V премии Монреальского протокола для сотрудников таможни и правоохранительных органов стран Европы и Центральной Азии (ЕЦА) за 2019-2020 годы

ECA meetings in the OzonAction meeting portal:

Europe and Central Asia (ECA) Ozone2Climate meeting with Montreal Protocol officers and RAC associations/experts and participation in the 50th International HVAC&R Congress and Exhibition in Belgrade, Serbia, 4-6 December 2019
Europe and Central Asia (ECA) Enforcement and Network Meetings, Kiev, Ukraine, 24-27 September 2019
Parallel Twinning of National Ozone Officers and Energy Policymakers for Energy Efficient and Climate-Friendly Cooling, Paris, France, 21-22 February 2019
Europe and Central Asia Annual meeting of Ozone Officers, Antalya, Turkey, 11-12 October 2018
Twinning Workshop on Energy-Efficient and Climate-Friendly Refrigeration and Air Conditioning: Europe and Central Asia, Antalya, Turkey, 9-10 October 2018
Europe & Central Asia (ECA) Meeting of Montreal Protocol and Refrigeration & Air-Conditioning (RAC) Experts, Valencia, Spain, 18-21 June 2018
Inter-Regional Thematic and Network Meetings for National Ozone Officers, Paris, France, 15-19 January 2018

ECA Network

The Regional Montreal Protocol Network for Europe & Central Asia (ECA network) includes 11 developing countries which spread from Central Asia and Caucasus to the Balkans: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, North Macedonia, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey and Turkmenistan. The 7 countries with economies in transition (CEIT countries) usually attend ECA meetings as self-funded participants: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. The operational languages of the ECA network are English and Russian.

Albania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey are candidate countries. Armenia and Kyrgyzstan joined the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) between Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation in 2015. Neighboring countries include major trade partners such as China and the European Union as well as Afghanistan, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, and the Syrian Arab Republic.

The ECA network has evolved into a multi-stakeholder network involving a wide range of national and international stakeholders. All of them have contributed to meeting the Montreal Protocol targets. We congratulate and thank the high-level Government officials and their national teams, customs and other enforcement officers, refrigeration and air-conditioning experts, private companies, academia, vocational schools, non-governmental organizations, media and the general public for the tremendous efforts and contributions.

Our special thanks are extended to the resource persons from the Ozone Secretariat, the Multilateral Fund Secretariat, the implementing agencies and bilateral partners, our technical and policy experts from inside and outside the Montreal Protocol community as well as cooperating organizations. All of them contributed their knowledge and shared their experiences often at their own costs and using their private time. We are also very grateful to UNDP and UNIDO who facilitated the participation of the CEIT countries in ECA meetings.



Mr Halvart Koeppen
Montreal Protocol Regional Coordinator for Europe and Central Asia (ECA)
Environment Programme, Law Division, OzonAction
Email: [email protected]