24 Jun 2019 News Environmental rights and governance

Call for nominations for the Asia Environmental Enforcement Awards 2019

UN Environment and partners are seeking nominations for the fourth Asia Environmental Enforcement Awards. The awards recognize excellence in law enforcement by government officials and institutions or teams combating transboundary environmental crime, such as illegal trade in wildlife, chemicals or waste, including plastic, in Asia.

This year’s awards will be given to teams or individuals who demonstrate excellence and leadership in one or more of the following categories: collaboration; impact; innovation; integrity; and gender leadership. There will be also a separate category for Africa-Asia cooperation in the area of illegal trade in wildlife. The 2019 awards are presented by UN Environment in partnership with the United Nations Development Programme, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, the Secretariat of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, and INTERPOL.

The category for Africa-Asia cooperation in the area of illegal trade in wildlife is sponsored by the United Nations Development Programme and the Global Environment Facility-financed, World Bank-led Global Wildlife Program.

Why do we give Environmental Enforcement Awards?

Transboundary environmental crime presents a serious threat in the region. Illegal trade in wildlife undermines conservation efforts, harms economies, devastates livelihoods and compromises ecosystems on which we all depend. It also takes place on the routes between Africa and Asia at significant scale. The Asia region is also one of the main destinations for illegally traded chemicals and waste. Millions of tonnes of hazardous waste and harmful chemicals are transported to and within Asia, with disastrous effects for human health and the environment. Governmental authorities working on environmental enforcement issues are on the front line of efforts to combat transboundary environmental crime. The 2019 awards will recognize and celebrate their critical role in doing so.

View the winners of the 2018 Awards here.

How to nominate

Nominations must be made online, using this online form. The deadline for submitting candidates is on 9 August 2019 at midnight (Bangkok time or GMT+7).

See the nomination form and information note with all relevant details.

For more information, please contact Emeline Pluchon