Country Representation

Focal points

The focal points institutions have been supported to operationalise their offices and to initiate a reporting mechanism for the Convention by compiling national status reports on the coastal and marine environment.

The support has also contributed to strengthening the task forces of the Convention, such as the Forum of Academic and Research Institutions (FARI) and the Coral Reef Task Force (CRTF). The national reporting mechanism for the Convention and the strengthened task forces will give guidance on national priorities within coastal and marine management in preparation for the Convention’s Work Programme for 2008 and onwards.

The Nairobi Convention Focal Points main roles are:-

  • To coordinate information flow from national institutions, NGOs and locally based national, bilateral or multilateral projects and ensuring the dissemination of information to and within the convention area.
  • To act as links to other Multilateral Environment Agreements, International Organizations and Fisheries related Conventions. The focal points will report to COP through the Forum of the Focal Points of the Nairobi Convention on areas of synergy and complementarities between the work plans of all the Conventions at the National level.
  • To ensure inter-sectorial coordination on the implementation of all activities approved by Contracting Parties meeting.
  • To serve as the channel for all formal communications between the Secretariat and the governments and National collaborating institutions and task force members.
  • To participate in preparation of biennial work plans as national experts, and ensure preparation and submission of reports on the implementation of biennial work plans and reports or relevant activities implemented at the national level by Government departments, UN agencies, NGOs. Coordinate the preparation and the state of the marine environment as contribution to the regional report to the COP.
  • To participate in or assure adequate representation at the meetings of the National Focal Points Forum at least once every year and at the COP meetings.
  • To participate in all resource mobilization activities in consultation with the vice chair responsible for and to ensure regular and timely contributions by participating governments to the Eastern African Trust Fund.

Strengthening of the focal points will continue to be a priority, and will build on the momentum generated through the focal point forum, development of specific terms of reference and the initiation of a reporting mechanism for the Convention.

The focal points of the Contracting Parties in the Western Indian Ocean(WIO) region are:-


Mr. Ismael Bachirou

Ministère de la Production, de l'Environnement, de l'Energie, de l'Industrie et de l'Artisanat
Direction Generale de l'Environnemt
B.P. 41, Moroni Union Des Comores 
Tel +269 333 12 10
Email: [email protected]

Ms. Fatima Athoumani

Direction Général de l'Environnement et des Forêts
Ministère de la Production, de l’Environnement, de l’Energie, de l’Industrie et de l’Artisanat
Tel: +269 333 12 10/ 763 26 84
Email: [email protected]



To be confirmed

The Principal Secretary
Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Regional Development Authorities (Kenya)
NHIF Building,12th Floor Ragati road, Upperhill
P.O Box 30126-00100, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: +254 20 2730808/9 / 2725707 / 2725707
Email: [email protected]

Prof. Geoffrey Wahungu

Director General,
National Environment Authority (NEMA)
PO Box. 67839-00200 Popo Road, Off Mombasa Road, Nairobi, Kenya.
Tel: + 254 20 6005522
Email: [email protected]



Mr. Jacquis Rasoanaina

Point Focale Nationale de la convention de Nairobi
Ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ecologie, et des Forêts
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Tel: +261  33  11  242  49/ 34  05  621  11
Email: [email protected] , [email protected]

Mr. Andriamboavonjy Nicolas

Direction Générale de l'Environnement
Ministère de l'Environnement, de l'Ecologie et des Forêts
Direction Générale de l'Environnement
Cadre d'Appui Technique
Tél +261 34 08 41382
Email: [email protected]



Mr. Ramchurn Seenauth

pisional Environment Officer
Ministry of Environment, Sustainable
Development, Disaster & Beach Management
Email: [email protected]



Ms. Nanette Laure

Director General
Waste, Enforcement and Permits pision
Ministry of Environment Energy and Climate Change
Tel: +248 4670567/4670566
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Alain de Comarmond

Principal Secretary
Environment Department
Ministry of Environment, Energy and Climate Change
Republic of Seychelles
Tel: +248 4670512
Email: [email protected]


United Republic of Tanzania

Ms. Esther Makwaia

Principal Fisheries Officer 
Vice President’s Office
5380, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania 
Email: [email protected]

Dr. Aboud S. Jumbe

Principal Environmental Officer
Ministry of Land, Water, Energy and Environment
Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar
Email:  [email protected]



Mr. Abdikadir Sidi Sheikh

Director of Planning and Training Department
Office of the Environment
At the Office of the Prime Minister
Federal Republic of Somalia
Email: [email protected]



Ms. Nadia Deckert

Ministère des Affaires Estrangéres et du Développment International,
27 rue de la Convention, CS91533,
F-75732 PARIS Cedex 15 France.
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Benoit Rodrigues

Chargé de mission protection environnement marin et conventions mers régionales
(Méditerranée, Océan indien, Pacifique, Caraibes)
Bureau Biodiversité et Milieux
Direction des Affaires Européennes et Internationales
Email: [email protected]



Ms. Ivete Joaquim Maibaze

National Director of Environment (DINAB)
Ministry of Land, Environment and Rural Development (MITADER), 
Maputo, Mozambique 
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Alexandre Bartolomeu

Ministry of Land, Environment and Rural Development
Av. Acordos de Lusaka, 2115 - CP nº 2020/MAPUTO - República de Moçambique
P.O Box 2020, Maputo
Email:  [email protected]


Republic of South Africa

Mr. Lisolomzi Fikizolo

Chief Director: Specialist Monitoring Services
Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA)
Private Bag X447
Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Yamkela Mngxe

Control Environmental officer
Department of Environmental Affairs
Private Bag X447 Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Email: [email protected]