كوكبنا يغرق في التلوث البلاستيكي

 في يوم البيئة العالمي لهذا العام، , حان وقت التغيير

في حين يتميز البلاستيك بالعديد من الاستخدامات القيمة، إلا أننا قد أصبحنا مدمنين على استخدام البلاستيك الذي يستخدم لمرة واحدة — مع عواقب بيئية وخيمة. في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يتم شراء مليون زجاجة مياه شرب بلاستيكية كل دقيقة، في حين يتم استخدام ما يصل إلى 5 تريليون كيس من أكياس البلاستيك الذي يستخدم لمرة واحدة كل عام. وفي الإجمالي، تم تصميم نصف جميع المواد البلاستيكية المُنتجة ليتم استخدامها مرة واحدة —ثم يتم التخلص منها. أصبحت النفايات البلاستيكية موجودة الآن في كل مكان في البيئة الطبيعية، وأشار العلماء حتى إلى أنها يمكن أن تكون  بمثابة مؤشر جيولوجي لعصر الأنثروبوسين . لذلك كيف نصل إلى هذه النقطة؟

منذ فترة الخمسينات إلى فترة السبعينات, تم إنتاج كمية صغيرة فقط من البلاستيك، لذلك كان من الممكن التحكم في النفايات البلاستيكية نسبيًا.

وبحلول فترة التسعينات تضاعف توليد النفايات البلاستيكية أكثر من ثلاثة أضعاف في غضون عقدين، أعقبه ارتفاع مماثل في إنتاج المواد البلاستيكية.

وفي بداية عام 2000 ارتفع إنتاجنا من النفايات البلاستيكية بصورة أكبر في عقد واحد مما كان عليه في السنوات الأربعين الماضية.

اليوم، نحن ننتج حوالي 300 مليون طن متري من النفايات البلاستيكية كل عام. ويعادل هذا تقريبا وزن السكان البشر بالكامل.

يقدر الباحثون أن أكثر من 8.3 مليار طن من البلاستيك تم إنتاجها منذ أوائل الخمسينات. وأن حوالي 60 ٪ من ذلك البلاستيك انتهى به المطاف في مدافن القمامة أو البيئة الطبيعية.

نحن نلاحظ بعض الاتجاهات الأخرى المثيرة للاهتمام. منذ عام 1950، نما معدل إنتاج البلاستيك بصورة أسرع من أي مادة أخرى. كما رأينا تحولًا بعيدًا عن إنتاج البلاستيك المتين، ونحو البلاستيك الذي يُقصد التخلص منه بعد استخدام واحد فقط. يتم إنتاج أكثر من 99٪ من المواد البلاستيكية من مواد كيميائية مشتقة من النفط والغاز الطبيعي والفحم - وكلها موارد متسخة وغير متجددة. وإذا ما استمرت الاتجاهات الحالية، فستستهلك صناعة البلاستيك 20٪ من إجمالي استهلاك النفط في العالم بحلول عام 2050.

 إن هذه المنتجات البلاستيكية التي تستخدم لمرة واحدة موجودة في كل مكان. وبالنسبة للكثيرين منا، أصبحت هذه المواد البلاستيكية جزءًا لا يتجزأ من حياتنا اليومية.

مادة البولي ايثلين (PET)
وزجاجات المياه، والحاويات التي تستخدم لمرة واحدة، وصواني البسكويت

بولي ايثيلين عالي الكثافة
زجاجات الشامبو، زجاجات الحليب، أكياس الفريزر، حاويات الآيس كريم

بولي ايثيلين منخفض الكثافة
الأكياس، الصواني، الحاويات، غطاء تغليف المواد الغذائية

البولي بروبلين (PP)
أكياس رقائق البطاطس وأطباق الميكروويف وأحواض الآيس كريم وأغطية الزجاجات

البوليسترين (PS)
أدوات المائدة والأطباق والأكواب

البوليسترين الموسع
التعبئة والتغليف الواقي، أكواب المشروبات الساخنة

نحن بحاجة إلى إبطاء تدفق البلاستيك من مصدره ولكننا نحتاج أيضًا إلى تحسين الطريقة التي ندير بها نفاياتنا البلاستيكية. لأنه في الوقت الحالي، ينتهي المطاف بالكثير منها في البيئة.

تم إعادة تدوير 9٪ فقط من جميع النفايات البلاستيكية التي تم إنتاجها على الإطلاق. وتم حرق حوالي 12٪ ، في حين أن الكمية الباقية التي تبلغ - 79٪ - قد تراكمت في مدافن النفايات، ومقالب القمامة أو البيئة الطبيعية. كانت أعقاب السجائر - التي تحتوي فلاترها على ألياف بلاستيكية صغيرة - هي أكثر أنواع النفايات البلاستيكية الموجودة في البيئة حسبما أشار مسح عالمي أُجري حديثا. وكانت زجاجات مياه الشرب، وأغطية الزجاجات، وأغلفة الطعام، وأكياس البقالة، وأغطية المشروبات، والقش (الشفاطات البلاستيكية)، وأدوات تقليب المشروبات هي العناصر الأكثر شيوعًا. ويستخدم العديد منا هذه المنتجات بصورة يومية، دون حتى التفكير في المكان الذي قد ينتهي المطاف بهذه المنتجات.

تحمل الأنهار نفايات بلاستيكية من أعماق المياه الداخلية إلى البحر، مما يجعلها من أكبر المساهمين الرئيسيين في تلوث المحيطات

ينتهي المطاف كل عام بواقع 8 ملايين طن من البلاستيك في محيطات العالم. كيف تصل هذه المواد البلاستيكية إلى هناك؟ يأتي الكثير منها من أنهار العالم، التي تعمل كقنوات مباشرة لجمع القمامة من مدن العالم إلى البيئة البحرية. 

نهر النيجر

نهر النيل

نهر إندوس

نهر ميجنا، برامبوترا، غانج

نهر ميكونغ

نهر اللؤلؤ

نهر تشانغ جيانغ

نهر هوانق هي

نهر هاي هو

نهر آمور

تحمل هذه الانهار ال 10 وحدها أكثر من 90% من النفايات البلاستيكية tالتي ينتهي بها المطاف في المحيطات

النفايات البلاستيكية — سواء كانت في نهر أو محيط أو في البرية — يمكن أن تبقى في البيئة لقرون.

نفس الخصائص التي تجعل البلاستيك مفيداً للغاية – مثل متانتها ومقاومتها للتدهور - تجعل من المستحيل تقريباً على الطبيعة أن تنهار تماماً.  لا تختفي معظم المواد البلاستيكية تماماً. إنما تتقلص فقط أصغر وأصغر. تبتلع حيوانات المزرعة أو الأسماك العديد من هذه الجسيمات البلاستيكية الصغيرة، وبالتالي يمكن أن تجد طريقها إلى أطباق العشاء التي نتناولها. كما تم العثور عليها في معظم صنابير المياه في العالم.

إن  نهر تشانغ جيانغ (نهر اليانغتسي) في الصين ، الذي يمر عبر مدينة شنغهاي، ينقل ما يقرب من 1.5 مليون طن من النفايات البلاستيكية إلى البحر الأصفر.

وإذا ما استمرت الاتجاهات الحالية، يمكن أن تحتوي محيطاتنا على كمية من البلاستيك تفوق عدد الأسماك بحلول عام 2050.

في حين تولد الولايات المتحدة واليابان والعديد من البلدان الأوروبية كميات كبيرة من النفايات البلاستيكية، إلا أن هذه البلدان جيدة نسبياً في إدارة هذه النفايات. ويأتي نصف كمية النفايات البلاستيكية في المحيطات من خمسة بلدان فقط: الصين وإندونيسيا والفلبين وتايلاند وفيتنام. تشهد هذه البلدان نمواً اقتصادياً سريعاً، مما يؤدي إلى الحد من معدلات الفقر وتحسين نوعية الحياة لمئات الملايين من الناس. ولكن مع نمو هذه الاقتصادات، يزدهر الاستهلاك – ومن ثم يزدهر استخدام السلع البلاستيكية.

يواصل الحجم العالمي للنفايات البلاستيكية في النمو، و  ولا يُدير بعض كبار منتجي المواد البلاستيكية نفاياتهم بشكل فعال.

لكن العالم يستيقظ على المشكلةوقد بدأت الحكومات باتخاذ إجراء حيال ذلك.

هناك العديد من الأشياء التي يمكن للحكومات القيام بها – بدءا من إدارة حملات التوعية العامة، وصولا إلى تقديم حوافز لإعادة التدوير، وفرض رسوم أو حتى حظر منتجات معينة بشكلٍ تام . في العقد الماضي، اعتمد عدد كبير من الحكومات الوطنية والمحلية في جميع أنحاء العالم سياسات للحد من استخدام المواد البلاستيكية ذات الاستعمال الواحد. ويستمر العدد في التزايد. تبرز أفريقيا باعتبارها القارة التي تعتمد فيها معظم البلدان حظرا تاما على إنتاج واستخدام الأكياس البلاستيكية. ومن بين البلدان الأفريقية الخمس والعشرين التي حظرت الأكياس البلاستيكية، قام أكثر من نصف هذه البلدان بذلك الحظر في السنوات الأربع الأخيرة فقط.

قام عدد مثير للإعجاب - ومتزايد - من الحكومات الوطنية والمحلية باتخاذ إجراءات ضد تلوث البلاستيك

لقد رأينا الكثير من الإجراءات الإيجابية، لكن الحقيقة هي  أننا جميعًا بحاجة إلى بذل المزيد من الجهد .

 وفي يوم البيئة العالمي لهذا العام,الأمم المتحدة تدعو الناس في كل مكان لاتخاذ خطوات ملموسة من أجل  #التغلب_على_التلوث_البلاستيكيفي حياتهم المعيشية. ولا ينبغي أن تنتظر حتىيوم 5 يونيه لاتخاذ إجراء. هناك الكثير من الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها – بدءا من الطلب من المطاعم التي تترد عليها كثيرا أن تتوقف عن استخدام القش البلاستيكي (الشفاطات البلاستيكية)، وصولا إلى إحضار فنجان القهوة الخاص بك للعمل، والضغط على السلطات المحلية لتحسين كيفية إدارة نفايات مدينتك. وفيما يلي بعض الأفكار الأخرى:

الضغط على موردي المواد الغذائية لاستخدام التغليف غير البلاستيكي

إحضار أكياس التسوق الخاصة بك عند الذهاب إلى السوبر ماركت

ارفض استخدام أدوات الطعام  البلاستيكية والقش البلاستيكي

قم بالتقاط أي مواد بلاستيكية تصادفها أثناء رياضة المشي

احمل زجاجة ماء قابلة لإعادة الملء

أخبر المسئولين المحليين بأنك تدعم حظر استخدام الأكياس البلاستيكية التي تستخدم مرة واحدة

Our planet is drowning in plastic pollution

This World Environment Day, it’s time for a change

While plastic has many valuable uses, we have become addicted to single-use or disposable plastic — with severe environmental consequences. Around the world, one million plastic drinking bottles are purchased every minute, while up to 5 trillion single-use plastic bags are used worldwide every year. In total, half of all plastic produced is designed to be used only once — and then thrown away. Plastic waste is now so ubiquitous in the natural environment that scientists have even suggested it could serve as a geological indicator of the Anthropocene era. So how did we get here?

From the 1950s to the 70s, only a small amount of plastic was produced, so plastic waste was relatively manageable.

By the 1990s, plastic waste generation had more than tripled in two decades, following a similar rise in plastic production.

In the early 2000s, our output of plastic waste rose more in a single decade than it had in the previous 40 years.

Today, we produce about 300 million tonnes of plastic waste every year. That’s nearly equivalent to the weight of the entire human population.

Researchers estimate that more than 8.3 billion tonnes of plastic has been produced since the early 1950s. About 60% of that plastic has ended up in either a landfill or the natural environment.

We’re seeing some other worrying trends. Since the 1950s, the rate of plastic production has grown faster than that of any other material. We’ve also seen a shift away from the production of durable plastic, and towards plastics that are meant to be thrown away after a single use. More than 99% of plastics are produced from chemicals derived from oil, natural gas and coal — all of which are dirty, non-renewable resources. If current trends continue, by 2050 the plastic industry could account for 20% of the world’s total oil consumption.

These single-use plastic products are everywhere. For many of us, they’ve become integral to our daily lives.  

Polyethylene terephthalate (PET)
Water bottles, dispensing containers, biscuit trays

High—density polyethylene (HDPE)
Shampoo bottles, milk bottles, freezer bags, ice cream containers

Low—density polyethylene (LDPE)
Bags, trays, containers, food packaging film

Polypropylene (PP)
Potato chip bags, microwave dishes, ice cream tubs, bottle caps

Polystyrene (PS)
Cutlery, plates, cups

Expanded polystyrene (EPS)
Protective packaging, hot drink cups

Source: “Banning single-use plastic: lessons and experiences from countries” UN Environment report (2018)

We need to slow the flow of plastic at its source, but we also need to improve the way we manage our plastic waste. Because right now, a lot of it ends up in the environment.

Only 9% of all plastic waste ever produced has been recycled. About 12% has been incinerated, while the rest — 79% — has accumulated in landfills, dumps or the natural environment. Cigarette butts — whose filters contain tiny plastic fibres — were the most common type of plastic waste found in the environment in a recent global survey. Drink bottles, bottle caps, food wrappers, grocery bags, drink lids, straws and stirrers were the next most common items. Many of us use these products every day, without even thinking about where they might end up.

Rivers carry plastic waste from deep inland to the sea, making them major contributors to ocean pollution

A staggering 8 million tonnes of plastic end up in the world’s oceans every year. How does it get there? A lot of it comes from the world’s rivers, which serve as direct conduits of trash from the world’s cities to the marine environment.

Niger

Nile

Indus

Meghna,
Brahmaputra,
Ganges

Mekong

Zhujiang

Chang
Jiang

Huang He

Hai He

Amur

These 10 rivers alone carry more than 90% of the plastic waste that ends up in the oceans

Data from “Export of Plastic Debris by Rivers into the Sea” by Christian Schmidt, Tobias Krauth, and Stephan Wagner, published in Environmental Science & Technology (2017)

Plastic waste — whether in a river, an ocean, or on land — can persist in the environment for centuries.

The same properties that make plastics so useful — their durability and resistance to degradation — also make them nearly impossible for nature to completely break down. Most plastic items never fully disappear; they just get smaller and smaller. Many of these tiny plastic particles are swallowed by farm animals or fish who mistake them for food, and thus can find their way onto our dinner plates. They’ve also been found in a majority of the world’s tap water. By clogging sewers and providing breeding grounds for mosquitoes and pests, plastic waste — especially plastic bags — can increase the transmission of vector-borne diseases like malaria.

China’s Chang Jiang (Yangtze) River, which flows past Shanghai, delivers nearly 1.5 million tons of plastic waste into the Yellow Sea.

If current trends continue, our oceans could contain more plastic than fish by 2050.

While the United States, Japan and many European countries generate significant amounts of plastic waste, they’re also relatively good at managing it. About half of all of the plastic waste that ends up in the oceans comes from just five countries: China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand and Viet Nam. These countries are experiencing rapid economic growth, which is reducing poverty rates and improving the quality of life for hundreds of millions of people. But as these economies grow, consumption booms — and so does the use of plastic goods.

The global volume of plastic waste continues to grow, and some of the biggest producers don’t manage their waste effectively.

Data from “Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean” by Jenna Jambeck and others, published in Science (2015)

But the world is waking up to the problem, and governments are starting to act.

There are a number of things that governments can do — from running public awareness campaigns, to offering incentives for recycling, to introducing levies or even banning certain products outright. In the last decade, dozens of national and local governments around the world have adopted policies to reduce the use of disposable plastic. And the number continues to grow. Africa stands out as the continent where the most countries have adopted a total ban on the production and use of plastic bags. Of the 25 African countries that have banned the bags, more than half have done so in the last four years alone.

An impressive — and growing — number of national and local governments have taken action against plastic pollution

Source: “Banning single-use plastic: lessons and experiences from countries” UN Environment report (2018)

We’ve seen a lot of positive action, but the truth is that we all need to do more.

This World Environment Day, the UN is calling on people everywhere to take concrete steps to #BeatPlasticPollution in their own lives. And you don’t have to wait until 5 June to act. There are so many things that you can do – from asking the restaurants you frequent to stop using plastic straws, to bringing your own coffee mug to work, to pressuring your local authorities to improve how they manage your city’s waste. Here are some other ideas:

Pressure food suppliers to use non-plastic packaging

Bring your own shopping bags to the supermarket

Refuse plastic cutlery and straws

Pick up any plastic you see when you’re out walking

Carry a refillable water bottle

Tell your local officials that you support a ban on single-use plastic bags