这个世界环境日,是时候做出改变了

这个世界环境日, 是时候做出改变了

虽然塑料有许多有价值的用途,但我们过度依赖一次性塑料,造成了严重的环境后果。 全球每分钟卖出100万个塑料饮料瓶,全球每年使用5万亿个塑料袋。我们生产的塑料制品有一半是一次性的 ——用后就被丢弃。 如今,塑料垃圾在自然环境中随处可见,以至于科学家们认为可以将其视为人类世的地质指标。 我们是怎么沦落到这一境地的?

从20世纪50年代到70年代,塑料的生产量极少,因此塑料垃圾相对易于管理。

截至20世纪90年代,短短20年间,塑料垃圾的数量增加了2倍多,同时迅猛增长的还有塑料生产量。

在21世纪初,塑料垃圾产量在10年间的增长量比过去40年间还要多。

如今,我们每年生产约3亿吨塑料垃圾,这几乎相当于全球人口的总重量。

研究人员估计自20世纪50年代以来,我们已经生产了超过83亿吨的塑料垃圾。大约60%的塑料最终深埋于垃圾填埋场或流入自然环境中。

我们同时看到了其他一些令人担忧的趋势。自20世纪50年代以来,塑料产量的增长速度比任何其他材料都快。我们也注意到全球从生产耐用塑料,逐渐转变为生产一次性塑料。 99%以上的塑料是由以石油、天然气和煤炭为原料的化学品生产而来的——它们都是污染环境、不可再生的资源。如果照目前的趋势发展下去,截至2050年塑料行业可能会占世界石油消费总量的20%。

这些一次性塑料制品无处不在。 对于我们许多人来说,它们已经成为我们日常生活的一部分。

聚对苯二甲酸乙二醇酯(PET)
水瓶、一次性容器、饼干托盘

高密度聚乙烯(HDPE)
洗发水瓶、牛奶瓶、冷冻袋、冰淇淋容器

低密度聚乙烯(LDPE)
包装袋、托盘、容器、食品包装膜

聚丙烯(PP)
薯片袋、微波炉餐具、冰淇淋桶,瓶盖

聚苯乙烯(PS)
餐具、盘子、杯子

发泡聚苯乙烯(EPS)
保护性包装、热饮杯

《禁止使用一次性塑料:各国的教训和经验》联合国环境署报告(2018年)

我们需要在源头减缓塑料的流动,但我们也需要改进管理塑料垃圾的方式。因为现在很多垃圾最终都流入环境中。

只有9%的塑料垃圾被回收利用。约12%被焚烧。其余的79%最终堆积在垃圾填埋场或流入自然环境中。 最近的一项全球调查表明,烟头——其过滤嘴中含有微小塑料纤维——是环境中最常见的塑料垃圾。其次最常见的塑料垃圾有饮料瓶、瓶盖、食品包装纸、杂货袋、饮料盖、吸管和搅拌器。我们中的许多人每天都在使用这些产品,甚至没有考虑过它们最终的归宿。

 河流将塑料垃圾从内陆运送到海中,这是造成海洋污染的主要原因。

全球每年有800万吨塑料流入海洋。它们如何到达海洋的?其中很多来自世界各国的河流,这些河流是各城市向海洋运送环境垃圾的直接通道。

尼日尔

尼罗河

印度河

梅格纳河、
布拉马普特拉河、
恒河

湄公河

珠江

长江

黄河

海河

阿穆尔河

单是这10条河流就容纳了最终流向海洋的超过90%的塑料垃圾

数据来自 “河流向海洋输送塑料碎片”材料 由Christian Schmidt,Tobias Krauth和Stephan Wagner发表在《环境科学与技术》(2017年)

 塑料垃圾——无论是在河流,海洋还是在陆地都可以在环境中持续几个世纪

使塑料如此重要的特性——它们的耐用性和抗降解性——也使它们在自然中几乎不可能完全分解。 大多数塑料制品永远不会完全消失;他们只是越变越小。许多这些微小的塑料颗粒被农场动物或鱼类吞噬,最终出现在我们的餐桌上。它们也出现在世界上大部分地区的自来水中。

China’s Chang Jiang (Yangtze) River, which flows past Shanghai, delivers nearly 1.5 million tons of plastic waste into the Yellow Sea.

 如果目前的趋势继续下去,到2050年,我们的海洋中塑料可能比鱼更多

虽然美国、日本和许多欧洲国家生产了大量塑料垃圾,但它们在管理方面也做得相对较好。海洋中约一半塑料垃圾来自5个国家:中国、印度尼西亚、菲律宾、泰国和越南。 这些国家正在经历快速的经济增长,极大地减少了贫困率并提高了数亿人的生活质量。但随着经济体的增长,消费激增——塑料产品的使用也大幅增加。

全球塑料垃圾总量持续增长,一些大型生产商不能有效地管理废物

数据来自Jenna Jambeck等人发表于《科学》杂志(2015年)的文章《塑料垃圾从陆地进入海洋》

但世界正逐步觉醒正视这个问题,政府开始采取行动。

政府可以做很多事——从开展公共宣传活动到出台促进回收的激励措施,再到进行征税甚至彻底禁止某些一次性塑料产品。 在过去的十年里,很多国家和地方政府都采取了相关政策减少一次性塑料的使用。这一数字还在继续增长。 非洲大陆脱颖而出,大多数非洲国家全面禁止生产和使用塑料袋。在25个出台“塑料袋禁令”的非洲国家中,一半以上的国家在过去的4年中确实做到了。

令人印象深刻的——越来越多的国家和地方政府已采取行动对抗塑料污染

《禁止使用一次性塑料:各国的教训和经验》联合国环境署报告(2018年)

我们已经见证了许多积极的行动,但事实是,我们需要做更多

这个世界环境日,联合国呼吁世界各地的人们在自己的生活中采取具体步骤实现 #塑战速决。您不必等到6月5日再采取行动。您可以做很多事情——比如号召您经常光临的餐厅停止提供塑料吸管;带上自己的咖啡杯;向当地政府施压,推动它们改善城市废物管理方式。以下还有其他一些想法:

要求食品供应商提供非塑料包装。

去超市带上自己的可重复使用购物袋。

 拒绝塑料餐具和吸管。

在走路过程中,捡起你看到的任何塑料。

携带可重复使用的水瓶。

告诉当地政府,您支持“一次性塑料袋”禁令

Our planet is drowning in plastic pollution

This World Environment Day, it’s time for a change

While plastic has many valuable uses, we have become addicted to single-use or disposable plastic — with severe environmental consequences. Around the world, one million plastic drinking bottles are purchased every minute, while up to 5 trillion single-use plastic bags are used worldwide every year. In total, half of all plastic produced is designed to be used only once — and then thrown away. Plastic waste is now so ubiquitous in the natural environment that scientists have even suggested it could serve as a geological indicator of the Anthropocene era. So how did we get here?

From the 1950s to the 70s, only a small amount of plastic was produced, so plastic waste was relatively manageable.

By the 1990s, plastic waste generation had more than tripled in two decades, following a similar rise in plastic production.

In the early 2000s, our output of plastic waste rose more in a single decade than it had in the previous 40 years.

Today, we produce about 300 million tonnes of plastic waste every year. That’s nearly equivalent to the weight of the entire human population.

Researchers estimate that more than 8.3 billion tonnes of plastic has been produced since the early 1950s. About 60% of that plastic has ended up in either a landfill or the natural environment.

We’re seeing some other worrying trends. Since the 1950s, the rate of plastic production has grown faster than that of any other material. We’ve also seen a shift away from the production of durable plastic, and towards plastics that are meant to be thrown away after a single use. More than 99% of plastics are produced from chemicals derived from oil, natural gas and coal — all of which are dirty, non-renewable resources. If current trends continue, by 2050 the plastic industry could account for 20% of the world’s total oil consumption.

These single-use plastic products are everywhere. For many of us, they’ve become integral to our daily lives.  

Polyethylene terephthalate (PET)
Water bottles, dispensing containers, biscuit trays

High—density polyethylene (HDPE)
Shampoo bottles, milk bottles, freezer bags, ice cream containers

Low—density polyethylene (LDPE)
Bags, trays, containers, food packaging film

Polypropylene (PP)
Potato chip bags, microwave dishes, ice cream tubs, bottle caps

Polystyrene (PS)
Cutlery, plates, cups

Expanded polystyrene (EPS)
Protective packaging, hot drink cups

Source: “Banning single-use plastic: lessons and experiences from countries” UN Environment report (2018)

We need to slow the flow of plastic at its source, but we also need to improve the way we manage our plastic waste. Because right now, a lot of it ends up in the environment.

Only 9% of all plastic waste ever produced has been recycled. About 12% has been incinerated, while the rest — 79% — has accumulated in landfills, dumps or the natural environment. Cigarette butts — whose filters contain tiny plastic fibres — were the most common type of plastic waste found in the environment in a recent global survey. Drink bottles, bottle caps, food wrappers, grocery bags, drink lids, straws and stirrers were the next most common items. Many of us use these products every day, without even thinking about where they might end up.

Rivers carry plastic waste from deep inland to the sea, making them major contributors to ocean pollution

A staggering 8 million tonnes of plastic end up in the world’s oceans every year. How does it get there? A lot of it comes from the world’s rivers, which serve as direct conduits of trash from the world’s cities to the marine environment.

Niger

Nile

Indus

Meghna,
Brahmaputra,
Ganges

Mekong

Zhujiang

Chang
Jiang

Huang He

Hai He

Amur

These 10 rivers alone carry more than 90% of the plastic waste that ends up in the oceans

Data from “Export of Plastic Debris by Rivers into the Sea” by Christian Schmidt, Tobias Krauth, and Stephan Wagner, published in Environmental Science & Technology (2017)

Plastic waste — whether in a river, an ocean, or on land — can persist in the environment for centuries.

The same properties that make plastics so useful — their durability and resistance to degradation — also make them nearly impossible for nature to completely break down. Most plastic items never fully disappear; they just get smaller and smaller. Many of these tiny plastic particles are swallowed by farm animals or fish who mistake them for food, and thus can find their way onto our dinner plates. They’ve also been found in a majority of the world’s tap water. By clogging sewers and providing breeding grounds for mosquitoes and pests, plastic waste — especially plastic bags — can increase the transmission of vector-borne diseases like malaria.

China’s Chang Jiang (Yangtze) River, which flows past Shanghai, delivers nearly 1.5 million tons of plastic waste into the Yellow Sea.

If current trends continue, our oceans could contain more plastic than fish by 2050.

While the United States, Japan and many European countries generate significant amounts of plastic waste, they’re also relatively good at managing it. About half of all of the plastic waste that ends up in the oceans comes from just five countries: China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand and Viet Nam. These countries are experiencing rapid economic growth, which is reducing poverty rates and improving the quality of life for hundreds of millions of people. But as these economies grow, consumption booms — and so does the use of plastic goods.

The global volume of plastic waste continues to grow, and some of the biggest producers don’t manage their waste effectively.

Data from “Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean” by Jenna Jambeck and others, published in Science (2015)

But the world is waking up to the problem, and governments are starting to act.

There are a number of things that governments can do — from running public awareness campaigns, to offering incentives for recycling, to introducing levies or even banning certain products outright. In the last decade, dozens of national and local governments around the world have adopted policies to reduce the use of disposable plastic. And the number continues to grow. Africa stands out as the continent where the most countries have adopted a total ban on the production and use of plastic bags. Of the 25 African countries that have banned the bags, more than half have done so in the last four years alone.

An impressive — and growing — number of national and local governments have taken action against plastic pollution

Source: “Banning single-use plastic: lessons and experiences from countries” UN Environment report (2018)

We’ve seen a lot of positive action, but the truth is that we all need to do more.

This World Environment Day, the UN is calling on people everywhere to take concrete steps to #BeatPlasticPollution in their own lives. And you don’t have to wait until 5 June to act. There are so many things that you can do – from asking the restaurants you frequent to stop using plastic straws, to bringing your own coffee mug to work, to pressuring your local authorities to improve how they manage your city’s waste. Here are some other ideas:

Pressure food suppliers to use non-plastic packaging

Bring your own shopping bags to the supermarket

Refuse plastic cutlery and straws

Pick up any plastic you see when you’re out walking

Carry a refillable water bottle

Tell your local officials that you support a ban on single-use plastic bags